top of page
  • Writer's pictureMackenzie Hancock

2/7-2/21


Hellooooo!


Time in Tanzania has been great!


But first, a quick note about homesickness.


Homesickness has been a very real part of my Gap Year. Homesickness looks like low energy and sad mood and lack of motivation to do things for me. I have felt homesickness in each location but I've felt it the most in this location. I have longed for people and places that are familiar. I've longed for pets and foods and my bed. I've longed for many things that I can't reach while I'm overseas.


I've experienced homesickness before, I lived on campus when I went to college. I spent ten weeks on a mission trip in Maryland. However, this mixing of homesickness with culture shock is a first for me this year. I have missed many people and pets in my life. Below I included a few photos of my best friend, Rooney. I miss him very much. PS Mom I missed you too but I figured you don't want your photos on a random internet blog.


Back to Tanzania!!!


We spend our Monday and Tuesday mornings in training. We have lots of photos from that time because I enjoy taking bad photos of the Gap Year team. In this time, we get training from the Tanzanian staff and sometimes we train the staff and volunteers on different Cru tools they aren't familiar with.


For example, we got trained on their culture and their ministry. We trained them on using the photo spiritual conversation tool, Soularium.


We've had the opportunity to go to the middle and high schools in the area we're in to see how their Christian fellowship meeting goes! Every meeting has worship, prayer, and some short talk.


Watching the Tanzanian students worship has really opened by eyes to the way that people worship completely, body and soul. It is incredible to see the way that they unashamedly worship the Father. They have inspired me to worship the Lord with all that I am.



One week at the schools we all shared our testimonies! We told the students the story of how we started our relationships with God. I talked about how the constant failure in my quest of perfection has led me to my relationship with God. The photo above is me and the wonderful student who translated for me. Because she is under eighteen years old, she has some sunglasses on!


In addition to visiting schools, we have a full schedule! We meet with the students outside of their meeting, we have trainings, we have Bible study, we have church, and we have other church events.


On a Saturday, after seeing the team struggling with homesickness, Kathryn and I decided a trip to the beach was in order for team bonding. It was so fun! Kathryn planned so many fun games including photo scavenger hunt (we had to take photos with jellyfish!) and to recreate an iconic beach photo. For that one, Megan and Alondra did the "Titanic" pose.


I am so excited to continue to meet with students and talk to them about Jesus! Tanzania is our three month location, so we are here until May.


I hope you enjoy some more photos!


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

1/22-2/6

1/7-1/21

bottom of page