top of page
  • Writer's pictureMackenzie Hancock

1/22-2/6

Goodbye Egypt

Our last week in Egypt we spent time in the office creating future camps for WellSpring! They asked us to plan out a 5 day camp with talks and games that are all based around a value of our choosing. Each camp was to take place in a different country.


The country that I created a camp for was Poland. I looked into Poland's history and decided that the value that fit with the country was courage. I found different games to play and wrote outlines for a few talks that taught the campers courage through experiential learning.



Besha's family had us over to their house and served us Egyptian food for dinner! It was so wonderful and the food tasted so good!


We ate a lot of rice, various stuffed vegetables, Egyptian macaroni and cheese, and drank mango juice! Afterwards Megan had a fashion show with all of the hats in the house. It was a fun night.



One of our last nights here, we visited the bazaar! It was definitely for tourists and luckily enough, we were tourists. The place was packed with people and different goods to buy. I bought a scarf and a gift for Katie (no Katie, I won't tell you what I got you). JP bought an Egyptian man dress and scarf to wear. He was the talk of the town.


Afterwards we went and ate as much sushi as we could possibly fill ourselves with. Then we left to go to the airport and flew out at 12:45am!



Hello Tanzania

Here's our first photo in the Tanzanian airport after no sleep and many hours of travel.


The first thing we noticed about Tanzania was how hot and humid it was. By the time we left Egypt, it was about 60 degrees everyday. In Tanzania, it was 90 degrees when we landed!!


The Tanzanian people were so nice and friendly! When we had problems figuring out our VISAs, they were generous in guiding and assisting us.


The food here is so good and fresh! We get fruit at every meal when we eat at the hostel which is so wonderful. They also have people selling coconuts everywhere so one day the team decided to try them!

Some people liked the coconut water (not me) and some people liked the flesh (not me). But it was a fun cultural experience!!


We stay at a hostel here in Tanzania but it feels like we are staying in a dorm! Everyone has their own room and bathroom!! It is such an unexpected blessing. Sometimes I room with a lizard or a mosquito, but most nights I sleep by myself. (They've got lizards, just like Florida. The lizards are small and cute but always off-putting to me)


We spent the first few days here at the clothing stores!!! What a surprise. Here in Tanzania, when you go into a school, girls are expected to wear skirts or dresses, no pants allowed. So we tried many different stores and clothing stalls to load our closets up with clothes that we liked and were culturally appropriate.


On the right is a photo of me sharing my testimony at a school next to one of the students, who was translating for me! I will share more about the ministry we are doing in a future blog.


Enjoy the assortment of photos and see you next time!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

1/7-1/21

bottom of page