top of page
  • Writer's pictureMackenzie Hancock

1/7-1/21

Helllllloooooooo from Egypt!


WellSpring Camp

We volunteered at a Skateboard Camp which was so much fun. It was a sports camp so there was more than just skateboard offered. Most days I helped the kids learn how to play soccer, volleyball, and basketball but I did get to spend some time on a skateboard!


I served as a coach instead of a counselor which I enjoyed so much because I got to interact with all of the kids, not just the kids from one team. I had the opportunity to support and encourage them while they were building their athletic skills and building their character. I think the biggest things they learned were teamwork and integrity. Every time I interact with children, I remember that these are values that have to be built into them, as we aren't born with these things.


I was able to become friends with a few of the kids and it was difficult to say goodbye. But I know that they are in God's hands and He will form and shape them as He wills.


Because I don't have any photos with the kids, enjoy these photos of the sports camp location!


We also helped out with Sudanese refugees. Over the course of two days, we painted designs on the walls of the school that encouraged unity!


I spent most of the first day scrubbing the walls clean. I was pretty sore after that, but the grind doesn't stop. On the second day, I painted trim, baseboards, and the tops of the walls. I was also sore but that's okay. It's proof of the hard work!


Back at home, I love to do ministry with people who are experiencing housing crises. Oftentimes this means that I get to do manual labor like this. Back in Central Asia I was missing this kind of work. But God was so gracious to grant me the opportunity to do my favorite kind of ministry overseas!


After we finished painting, we created and hosted a day camp for some of the students who went to the school. We focused on unity and two of the Gap Team members got to share their testimony. It was so cool to be able to talk with the students about spiritual things!



Midyear

Every Cru missionary overseas on a one year trip gets a spiritual reset called "Midyear." Jill flew to Egypt in order to talk through things with us and to encourage us in our Gap Year. For Midyear we went to Sharm El-Sheikh and got to do really cool stuff.


Of course we focused on what God has done in and through us. We also had a lot of conversations that led our hearts to be realigned with the goals God has given us on this team.


In addition to that, we got to do some team bonding. We went on a boat to snorkel in the Red Sea and we hiked to see the sunrise on Mount Sinai! Both of these things were so fun (and they gave us some good sleep when we got back home because we were exhausted)!



More photos for you to enjoy!




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

1/22-2/6

bottom of page